Inspired Options are actively seeking UK Nurses with existing Australian Nursing Board registration
Forum Home [JFN Home] Forum Home > Open Nursing Forums > Career Advice
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Unsure...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr_Tee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Unsure...
    Posted: 01 Mar 2009 at 01:44
Hey everyone, Thought I would start by introducing myself. Im 20 and Im from Northern Ireland. I currently work in Customer Service, However, Im looking for a possible career change and go into nursing.

I have a few main worries, and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ok -  I will start where I first got the idea. In January I was rushed to hospital with Kidney Stones. I was in pure agony, unable to stand up, being constantly sick, was very bad. The Nurses at the Hospital really made me feel at home, they gave me pain killers and all the staff were they at my beakon call. I couldnt have asked for better service.

I was lying in the bed, looking around and I thought "I would love to do something like this". I would love to give that amount of service to someone else in need.

Anyway, so right now Im in Customer Service, A Job I dont mind...but at the same time doesnt feed my passion. To be honest, I see it as a "bill payer" sort of thing. Since January, I have been thinking on and off about becoming a Nurse, but while I can think of 100 positives, I can think of 100 negatives as well.

For a start, I left school with Ok GCSE's, I passed them all, and got grades ranging from B's, C's and D's. Not the greatest, but in my line of work It has suited me. I looked up information about nursing, and found out more about the course at Uni, and the Qualifications needed. It is high compared to what I have now, which means ALOT of work.